Port Moresby Stirs…

Image

Sunrise in Port Moresby is a rarity for me as I live in another part of the city surrounded by flywire – an absolute must to keep the mosquitoes away – and steel bars across the window to deter the urban wildlife with an unsavoury interest and keep bigger critters at bay.

Image

It’s not everyday that one sees this side of Port Moresby. It’s peaceful, beautiful and you moreorless wake up with the day. That’s what I love most about the tropics.

Image

I woke up early about 7.00am-ish and these were some shots I took to remind me that amongst the negative publicity surrounding life in Port Moresby, it is still one of the most peaceful and progressive (albeit slow) cities in the South Pacific. 

Image

I count myself lucky not to have to change my wardrobe with the seasons. This Saturday was one such day when you could venture into the city in a pair of shorts and T-shirt – in fact an all-year-round garb.

Image

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

