Girls in Green: Irish Dance

Agility, energy, litheliness and youth. What a joy to watch these young girls perform.

I’ve only ever seeing this type of dance on TV. For some reason when I was in UK I didn’t get a chance to see any Irish dancing. I perhaps was not adventurous enough but that’s for another trip I suppose.

Calls for agility of limbs! Ouch, my aching bones...

I was so happy to run into these group of young Irish dancers on Queen Street Mall, Brisbane, Australia on 17th March which also happens to be my birthday.

I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered the dancing girls in green, purely by accident.

I wasn’t sure whether they were dancing to raise funds for a cause or something.

There was a sort of bucket where the girls were dancing  but I didn’t have time to read what it said.

It seems that more and more  young people these days are taking their art – either visual or performing to the streets. This augurs well for the perpertuation of the arts in any culture. 

I am sure that we have groups here in PNG such as Paluai Suksuk and the Bougainville Bamboo Band and accompanying dancers who perform at various functions around the city. 

I wish I were 10 years old again!

The dancing is energetic and footwork seems to be the epitome of good Irish dancing or probably more correctly, Irish Dance. I wondered how much practice they need to perfect their steps and at what age they started dancing.

One of the features of this group of dancers that struck me was their age. Young people keeping their traditions.

Looks easy but I bet it took ages to perfect this step. Well that's from someone with two left feet!

Some cultural dancing groups in PNG have begun to ensure that their young people get to showcase their cultural dances such as the recent Palaui Suksuk Dancers from Manus at the National Cultural Commission-sponsored corporate dinner at the Dynasty Restaurant at Vision City.

This is one of those ocassions I relish when in another country. You don’t know what you will find but but if you get out and about you may come across something like this. Mostly it would be something artistic or creative and this was one of those ocassions. I enjoyed the dancing and considered myself rather fortunate to have witnessed it.

They make it look so easy.

A very pleasant interlude to a whirlwind shopping spree at Queen Street Mall, (Brisbane, Australia).

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “Girls in Green: Irish Dance”

  1. Hi Pam,
    Thank you for reading this and for you very insightful comments. Yes, one of my friends posted on FB and said Irish dance is now a cool new addition to mainstream dances. One day I think PNG dances will find their niche also in the mainstream. Will inbox you shortly.

    Best,
    IslandMeri

  2. Mari…not surprised you did not see any Irish dancing when you were in the UK. I never did as a child either though I was taught British Country dancing at school and also did some Scottish dancing (my mother was a Scot). It wasn’t until I came to Boston (14 years ago) that Irish dancing was so important as many Irish immigrated here. Just saw a wonderful celebration of Irish song and dance at Worcester, where my daughter lives. I love the way the bodies are held straight and the intricate tapping feet. Of course, everybody here celebrates on St. Patrick’s day when the country identifies with Irish culture. But it wasn’t always like that. I agree, very important that young people or all ethnicities learn their rich cultural traditions and share with others at special times. Thanks for this great post.

Leave a Reply

