Flying Into POM: Da View!

The 'Motuan Coastline'...jolie vue de la mer!

A few months ago I was flying back from Brisbane and this was the view as we approached the coastline of the Papuan mainland. I’ve flown this route so many times before but on this particular day I seemed to have focused on it and am not sure if it was because I had a camera handy. Will never know. A compelling view nonetheless.

 

The reef below...mystical...
Breathtaking...

I kept on thinking about the folks that came to settle in Port Moresby long before commercial flights became a popular means of travel. I wondered what they would have thought of their journey to PNG if they were in an aeroplane then looking at this vista. But then again perhaps the reefs weren’t so pronounced then as they are now so the view would have been completely different.

 

Best!

Another thought just crossed my mind. There I was making all that fuss over this view but perhaps to the pilots of the aircraft that fly the skies between Port Moresby and other destinations or regular travellers into Port Moresby, this was just another view. In any case I captured this vista to add to the many memories I have of Port Moresby and am glad to be able to share this one with you.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

