Moon Over Lamana Hotel, Port Moresby

Simply beautiful...

After the Sarong and Talent judging night for the Miss South Pacific Pageant on Friday, 26th November, 2010, we came out of the Lamana  Hotel where the contest took place and as the crowd – the non-Gold Club crowd that is – began to leave the Hotel parking lot, I automatically reached for my camera.

The sky above was aglow with the most awesome moonlight.

As I stood and admired the moon above, I recalled as a child a song I was taught about the moon which goes something like, “…moon, moon, beautiful moon…”. That’s all I can remember unfortunately.

Awesome!

Looking up at the heavens above on that evening I also thought, “…the moon is also shining over England and over all my friends and loved ones…” – I held on to that thought. It was a moment in time. It was as if I had just left England only the day before.

Moonlight....inspiring songwriters everywhere especially in the beautiful Pacific islands...

As a songwriter, the moon and moonlight always inspire me.  Some of the most memorable songs, at least to me are about the moon and moonlight. Some of the most memorable songs are classics, in my humble opinion and they remain some of my favourite songs for as long as I can remember such as:

“Moonlight and shadows…” – Hawaii

“Moonlight on the beach at Korolevu…” –  Fiji

“Sail along Samarai moon…” – Milne Bay Province, PNG

and many more…..

Through the mango leaves...a sight to behold

Whilst people were saying their goodbyes to the MSSP contestants and taking photos with them, there was much happy noise around but I just focused on taking shots of the moon – over Lamana that evening.

Another shot of the moonlight phenomenon
Somehow the Hotel looked different looking at it under the moonlight

As I walked away, I couldn’t help thinking that just over a year ago, I was taking pictures of the moon over Middlesex, England…what nostalgia I felt.

A sight to behold...anywhere on this Earth.

I recalled a poem I learnt at Primary School many many moons ago…”The Owl and the Pussycat” by Edward Lear and the stanza where it says, “…and hand in hand at the edge of the sand, they danced by the light of the moon, the moon. They danced by the light of the moon”.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

1 thought on “Moon Over Lamana Hotel, Port Moresby”

  1. Truly beautiful photos, Mari….the blue moon. I loved the Owl and the Pussycat story as a child and read it to my daughter and grand daughter. Loved Berl Ives singing it, too. Happy New Year and blessings of many moons to you and yours. The moon is special for women is all mythologies.
    Pamela

Leave a Reply

