A Fascination With Orchids

Spectacular show of natural colour in one place

The 7th International Orchid Show was held on the grounds of the National Parliament in Port Moresby at the beginning of October this year.It was over the weekend on 2-3 October, 2010. Please disregard the date on the photos – I’ve since adjusted the date so I have the correct date on my photos…phew!

Awards of various categories were made at the Show too.

I am as always, amazed at the splash of colour in one place as varieties of orchids could exist or grow so close together. Sometimes one can find a few varieties growing on one tree. This is really amazing. An awesome sight, without a doubt as one tree could have such a variety of colours  – purple, pink, white etc.

The orchid has fascinated me all my life as it is a flowering plant which you cant dig a hold in the ground and plant. It grows on other trees and plants. When I was growing up one of my maternal aunts introduced me to orchids. I tried growing some in the 90s but never succeeded. Maybe because I wasn’t keen enough to find out how to grow them. Perhaps one day – when I retire.

Growing on trees...amazing

Always awestruck by the beauty of these plants. I think the orchid is some sort of a parasitic plant, in this case.

There are some avid collectors and cultivators of these beautiful flowers. There is one such collector here in Port Moresby who has collected and cultivated around 6,000 varieties of spatulata orchids. Now that is something. He is featured in the catalogue of the Orchid Society of Papua New Guinea and also its Vice President. In the catalogue it reads in part, “…a world-class collection of spatulata orchids…”

Here are some of my shots of spatulata orchids and other varieties of this beautiful, perennial flowering plant.

I spent almost 2 hours at this Show just taking it all in. Wouldn’t you just?

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “A Fascination With Orchids”

  1. Hi Mari

    Truly beautiful and once again you have captured the magic of these wonderful exotic flowers. I too am an orchard lover. We had a varandah ful of these beautiful speciment in PNG. I’m now trying to recreat it now that I live in a sub-tropical clime.

    Thanks.

    Iava xx

Leave a Reply

