Vinaka Vaka Levu…Celebrating Fiji’s 40th Birthday

Symbols of sovereignty

There is always something exciting going on in Port Moresby especially cultural and social events of various kinds, large and small.

I was most fortunate to be invited to Fiji’s 4oth Independence anniversay celebrations on 9th October, 2010 at Murray Barracks in Korobosea. It was organized by the Fiji Association. Vinaka vaka levu AA and your awesome team.

It was a great opportunity as always to meet new friends and catch up with old ones.  I met a nephew for the first time…great to meet you at long last JG and hook up with RK – someone from UPNG days. I also met an avid fan who was introduced to me by his beautiful wife which was also very uplifting. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Vinaka vaka levu dear FI for the invite.

We were all in island gear and everyone chatted away happily in the tropical evening. No-one would suspect we were in an army establishment as the atmosphere was informal and no uniforms in sight. The place was abuzz with hellos and hugs, laughter and leisurely conversation.

Dalo, rourou...delish!

The food was tasty as always and there were some Fijian favourites – I think some rourou and the ever-inimitable dalo…and of course the roasted pork. Ahhhh…such delicious morsels to grace my palate once again. Viva Viti!

Throughout the evening we were entertained by the fantabulous Fabila family band. Later on after the meal when the dancing was in full swing, Elina Onno took to the stage and then after a couple of powerful numbers invited me to the stage. This was a great evening so why not, I thought, as I belted out  ‘Motuan Coastline’ and realised as I looked on the dance floor how many people actually liked this song. I was most privileged to have sung this song to this gathering of friends.

Well, what can I say, we were in danisi mode most of the night and I guess I got a bit of exercise from the leg-shaking. I had to sneak out to judge the PNG Idol at Lamana Hotel and then returned to the celebrations and did a bit of leg-shaking myself until the end – naturally.

Happy birthday dear Fiji, happy birthday to you and yours...

A birthday celebration is not complete without a cake and this birthday celebration was no exception.

A super awesome time was had by all. A very, very happy birthday Fiji and bula vinaka for a great fun evening.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

