Luk Save Art Exhibition 2010 – Rare Sightings Of Beauty

This, I thought captured an important event in village and community life.

I have always been fascinated by art as a child, especially paintings. One of my maternal uncles is a painter. I loved his paintings of island sunsets and local scenary with a coconut tree or trees in the foreground or the background are a common feature of  his works.

Over the past 30 years or so my interest in paintings has grown tenfold and I have started to do a little bit more than just look. I’ve start investing in some of these gorgeous pieces of creativity. Each time I see PNG artwork whether its oil on canvas or watercolours etc I feel sentimental and awestruck at the sametime. Something about them moves me. These are spiritual works. They come from the heart where the eye of any creator rests – I believe. It’s what inspires and motivates artists. A spiritual expression bubbling from a well-spring of imagination that forms a symbiotic relationship with one’s environment.

An explosion of colour depicting a familiar cultural feature of the PNG Highlands.

About  a month ago, I was alerted by a good friend overseas of the Luk Save Art Exhibiition at the Royal Papua Yacht Club in Port Moresby. She very kindly put me in touch with one of the organizers who called me about details of the Exhibition and where I could find it .

The everlasting frangipani...flower of Pasifika.

Well, I went along and although a small exhibition compared to others I have seen, I feasted my eyes on these creative works of PNG artists and artists who have been ‘born’ in PNG – meaning that their artistic pursuits have been awakened in this country.

Kinanale...the hibiscus...a hardy islander...

I felt privileged to have visited the Luk Save Art Exhibition and thank you PR for the contact and AA for the friendly welcome.

Unmistakably Morububuna...tugged persistently at my purse strings...the rest is history, I guess.

I wondered around for sometime admiring the works with my camera clicking away…you have to see them for yourself. These are rare sightings of beauty because there are not many exhibitions around that showcase these beautiful works but I am determined that this will change.

This etching is awesome...probably in someone's living room and if not? why not?

The different styles and themes are mind-blowing. Thank you to the Luk Save organizers for this great initiative and thanks to NASFUND for helping our PNG artists – PNG’s very own Picassos, Gaugins, Monets et al.

I think this was one of the winning entries.

One important thing I didn’t do was to take down the names of the artists so my very sincere apologies for this oversight. I’ll definitely do that next time. For a great write up on this Exhibition check out this blog.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

3 thoughts on “Luk Save Art Exhibition 2010 – Rare Sightings Of Beauty”

  1. Hi Mari,

    Unless you get a written agreement from the artist for the artwork, you cannot claim the image as your own by putting a “c” inside an “o” stamp on the artwork. The copyright belongs to the artist. You paid for the artwork but the design and layout is always the legacy of the creator. Remember when you buy a car, it is yours but its design is not yours.

    Jodam

  2. Dear Pam,

    Thank you ever so much for your compliments and never-ending support and advocacy for PNG art. Had it being another more accessible venue, am sure that a lot more people would have dropped by to have a look. There was another but smaller exhibition at Parliament House (no photography permitted) a few weeks ago which was mounted alongside the international orchid show.

    I am hoping that very soon we will get to use the National Art Gallery (with the National Museum) soon for art exhibitions and more regular art exhibitions.

    We have (my office) started to create a database of PNG artists and so far so good – work in progress.

    I would be interested in your ideas as per your discussions with Giles.

    I also have a proposal to run by you – rather work-oriented. Will send you a message on FB soon.

    Best,
    Mari

  3. Mari – among your many many talents, you are a wonderful writer and I think you should regular write reviews of all the PNG art exhibitions you see because it makes a difference when you are a Papua New Guinea and the images resonnate from your cultural perspective. Of course, as a photographer you have a great eye…the images you selected are wonderful. And you are right on, it is time the world knows a lot more about PNG art.
    Giles and I talked about this in San Francisco last week and we want to share it with you sometime soon. In the meantime, thanks for this post as I was so sorry not to have been able to attend…but next year my hopes are
    up. Thank you… P

Leave a Reply

