In Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

The welcoming hills of Port Moresby

This is just a quick one to say I am back in the tropics, in beautiful Papua New Guinea.

There’s going to be a 4-hour power outtage this afternoon starting in 25 minutes so I need to be quick and post this so you know I’ve moved from my favourite metropolis – one of the world’s most exciting places to live, London. I do miss my favourite stomping grounds but I need to a job to go to so here I am in sunny Port Moresby.

Walking down to the Ela Beach Craft Market - a sunny Saturday morning

These are some shots I took at the Ela Beach Craft Market. This is a monthly event and held at the end of each month except through the Christmas and New Year’s break. More on this later.

White shell necklace - natural white not dyed
Woven baskets, just one of the many woven totes found at the craft market

More on this craft market later. So much to tell. This is a joy for me – to go to the craft market and see how many new things and cottage products are brought for sale by Papua New Guinean entreprenuers. It is a sight to behold!

Now I’ve got to get ready and get out of my apartment. The power outtage is in 10 minutes. The hotel management is hosting a complimentary barbeque as a way of saying ‘apologies for the inconvenience’.  Now that is class!

Enjoy your day. Mine? Well what can I say, another day in paradise….

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

