Stratford: Views From A Moving Train…

A big upturned basin...

When I was heading towards Burnham-on-Crouch a couple of months ago, I was excited when I realised that my train would be passing through Stratford – the main venue of the London 2012 Olympics. This is what I saw through the glass windows of my train carriage. The awesome structures that are going up and soon to be the pride of Britain as Olympians gather from far and near to once again flex their muscles for Olympic medals. Wondered how many medals are going to contested here and what sport would be played here.

The UFO has landed...

Against the setting sun, the building looked like an unidentified object (UFO) has landed in East London. It was kind of weird. Anyway, in a strange kind of way it made me think about the Olympics and if this beautiful scene is a sign of things to come in 2012, I think Team GB should do very well and top their gold medal tally from Beijing. I am sure this place will be the centre of the world, sports-wise in the not-too-distant future.

The sunset in the background was spectacular!

As the train pulled away I could only imagine what the crowd would be like here in two years time and what noises would be emanating from that huge saucer-like structure. Already this is looking like a theme park – an Olympic theme park that will come to life very soon.

A mast-less galleon...

I also saw this structure. It looked like a mast-less galleon. Wonder where the Flying Dutchman is? From this angle it looked like a horse-drawn carriage but without the horses. I wonder what sport would be played at this venue?

Like a tail of a monstrous whale...

From this distance it looked like a tail of a diving monstrous whale into the blue yonder.  The sunset was stunning. I hope the Olympians will enjoy sunsets like this when they are here.

Wow! broken mast?

From this angle as the train got farther and farther away from the station, the same structure looked like a galleon with a broken mast. It also looked like the left-side of a sandshoe…

As the night sky darkened, back to planet Earth, as we chugged, chugged, chugged towards the sea, another lot of musings began to take hold of my mind. I thought of the friends I am going to spend the weekend with and the special Sunday service the following day.

Another journey…

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

4 thoughts on “Stratford: Views From A Moving Train…”

  1. Apinun tru Island Meri,

    I am so pleased to have stumbled across your website! I recently moved to London after working in PNG for 4 years and am missing it desperately & have been trying to figure out how to contact PNG expats here in London. Its been great then to find out about your blog. Do you have any advice on how to meet other PNG expats here? Or more importantly where to celebrate independence day in a few weeks?!

    Ba mahuta,
    tracy

    1. Hi Tracy,
      Tenkyu tru for visiting my blog and for your compliments. To trace PNGns living in London please visit Facebook and add me to your friend list. I will accept and that will open up a great opportunity to connect with PNGns in London. All the best and please visit whenever.
      Have a great day. Of course it’s night time here in Port Moresby.
      Cheers,
      Mari

  2. Hi there Island Meri, long time. Preparations for the Games appear earnest. It’s great the train passes by the site. Great shots! Regards, Pearson

    1. Wantok, great to hear from you. Yes, I know that Stratford was the venue for the 2012 Olympics but I didn’t know that the buildings were quite close to the train station and tracks. It should be busy as people are planning to rent their houses and flats to spectators, families of sportsmen/women. It is exciting. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

