A Confusing Name But A Goodie…

Like fish and chips any day.

When I first came to live in London I didn’t know that bangers and mash was food! Let alone what bangers were and what mash was.

I had no idea what the dish was. As far as I was concerned bangers are what you bang together to produce a noise like a gong, and mash was the name of a favourite American movie series “M.A.S.H”. I wondered why this was something you can eat or find in a pub or cafe. Sounded more like something you’ll find in a car service centre or garage. It could have been the name of a tool you used to hold two pieces of glued wooden slats – like a clamp.

I first had bangers and mash in 2004 at Davy’s pub near my office. Since then I have always associated bangers and mash with Davy’s since it was there that I was initiated to bangers and mash – the name of a simple common dish.  Anyway, then, it turned out to be a dish made up of a couple of sausages – Cumberland sausages – and mashed potato. I found this explanation of bangers and mash.

On this particular lunch time with my two close friends last week, I thought since we were at Davy’s I might as well go for bangers and mash and I  did. The dish not only hit the spot for me that day, it also warmed my heart to recall that this was where I first tasted this favourite hunger reliever. To be honest a dish with a confusing name but a goodie, nonetheless.

Heavenly morsel...we guzzled it and why not!

To complete our wonderful lunchtime get together, two of us shared an apply slice with cream.

A great time was had by all.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

