Connecting Via Liverpool Street Station

Travellers immortalised in a brass sculpture...captures the spirit of travel and family

I found Liverpool Street Station quite interesting especially it’s architecture and internal iconic features. In fact London’s tube stations and overland trains throughout the rest of the British Isles have very interesting histories. Together they give us an incredible glimpse into the history of the important development of London’s public transportation links within the city and far afield.

I went through Liverpool Street Station to take the overland train to Burnham-on-Crouch to visit close friends for the weekend and joined them in celebrating a momentus occasion on the Sunday. It was an exciting weekend away from London. We stayed up late chatting until 2.00am in the morning. Oh and I had a taste of the wonderful tapioca cake – a signature dish of the lady of the house. Soooo delicious. My mouth was luxuriating in the smooth creamy texture of the tapioca cake – at midnight. Now I called that a midnight feast!

Back to my journey to one of the iconic train stations in London. When  I arrived at Liverpool Street Station from Middlesex on the Saturday evening I was awestruck with the architecture and the layout of the station. Absolutely stunning wooden architecture! This was my very first time to stop and go into the station. I had to make my connection here bound for the seaside town in Essex.

Am posting a few photos I took inside and outside the station of some of the many attractive features of the station. I wished I had more time but, there is always a next time.


I kept on checking the electronic board for my platform number...

Cream-coloured lattice work like bits of lace...absolutely stunning!

The Gherkin in the background - an iconic landmark and part of London's cityscape.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

