Hees Done It Again!

A classy and enjoyable way to enjoy Chinese cuisine

Chopsticks – I find them really fascinating eating utensils. It is definitely a skill – handling these. Otherwise, it is daunting to think that one can be satisfied eating with these. Many years ago in Singapore, I was put to shame for stuffing my face with a fork and was not able to enjoy my hosts’ hospitality that spanned a 7- course meal. No kidding! You might say I learnt the hard way but learn I did! Looking back now, almost 20 years, I must say I am glad I ate humble pie and learnt something new and different. It is now second nature to me at any Chinese restaurant. My heartfelt gratitude to my Singaporean hosts’ wherever they are for challenging me to enjoy many Chinese meals since that embarrassing lunchtime at a classy restaurant on Orchard Road.

A couple of evenings this week we decided to drop by the Hees Chinese Restaurant in Mill Hill for dinner. We were in the neighbourhood and it felt kinda good to take in the long days and stay out until about 9pm or 10pm at night.

On both occasions as usual, service was immaculate, fast and pleasant. We have been there a couple of times so I reckon you could safely call us Hees regulars.

Our table...inviting

The place is clean, warm and so tidy. The food is absolutely delicious. For starters, try the beef satays and salted and pepper pork spareribs, the ever popular (with me that is) chicken sweet corn soup or salted and pepper squid.

Loveeeeeeely...
My favourite...
Just the thing to keep hunger away...
Inhaled it....nothing left. So yummy...

For dinner, you may want to try the shredded chilli beef and fish Peking style and mixed vegetables. Ambience and sumptuous food, superb ‘express’ service and a friendly team keeps calling us back.

As beautiful to the sight as it is to the palate...
Soooooo tasty...
Crunchy and yummy...

The menu goes on forever. That’s what I like about restaurants – long menus and feeling spoilt for choice is my kind of eatery – posh or non-posh.

As we left the restaurant smiling and absolutely smashed with great yummy morsels I couldn’t help thinking wow! Hees done it again!

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “Hees Done It Again!”

  1. Hello Island Meri,
    what a great site you have. Most enjoyable, and your photography is very impressive.
    I am an Aussie in PNG, married to a Chimbu meri.
    Good luck, and keep up the good work.

    1. Hi Wantok,

      Thank you for your compliments. I am so glad that you find the site interesting and enjoyable. I love taking photos esp. of food..lol. Thank you for visiting my blog. There is so much to write about tasol mi wok full time so whenever I can squeeze in the time I do the posts.

      Have a great weekend long Simbu…plis visit gen.

      Cheers,
      IslandMeri

Leave a Reply

