‘Schooled’ Over Lunch

A lovely finish to any meal...

One of the best ways of working is to meet and talk over food. Not necessarily drinks. That too, but I think that with eating you have to stop sometime whereas with drinking – well, too much drink, as we all know, could be counter-productive, big time.

I had lunch with a colleague yesterday at an eatery close to where we both work. I must admit I picked my colleague’s brains and the result? Well, some really important and useful information about something I feel very passionate about. I have spoken to a few people about my interest and have also done some research so I kind of expected this logical flow-on: more information. Fair enough, it was just that – a logical flow-on of information. I was so glad I sat there and listened and questioned this guru. My questions and gentle interrogation was countered with confident responses. I felt comfortable in the  knowledge that I am being ‘schooled’ over lunch by a technical expert with a wealth of knowledge and wisdom and heaps of experience in his field. A field I am becoming more and more compelled to explore and apply in my own work. I could see new career horizons in the not-too-distant future.

This was no coincidence. Far from it! I believe that if you desire something so much and are prepared to work for it, which includes a thirst for new knowledge and skills, someone somewhere will pick up the vibe and approach you with ways or means of realising your desire. After yesterday’s lunchtime ‘schooling’, albeit brief,  I would definitely be committing pen to paper on my future plans pretty soon.

At the end of the lunch a little taste of luxury. The healthy serving of an apricot flan with blueberries languishing in yoghurt was just the thing to complete a lovely convivial lunch. I am truly blessed.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

3 thoughts on “‘Schooled’ Over Lunch”

  1. I’m still learning from you, but I’m improving myself. I definitely love reading everything that is written on your site.Keep the information coming. I loved it!

    1. Thank you for your comments and for visiting my site. Yes, a shared meal creates a powerful atmosphere for sharing information and goodwill etc. I really enjoyed the apricot flan…never had one before – it was delish! Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

