Impromptu Wonders: Tea And Cake…

Just the thing any day of the week...tea and cake

It was a lovely sunny and warm day. I got to my office after a rather gingerly start to the week. I was really happy it was the end of the week and I was so looking forward to the weekend. I had plans and it was just the time to put those plans into action. Especially on a sunny day, I feel a rush of adrenalin thinking of the exciting stuff I’d be doing including reading up on my favourite subjects. Of course sitting back and watching the World Cup on telly, anticipating the USA vs Ghana game on Saturday and the England vs Germany game on Sunday. It is forecasted to be 30 degrees Celcius that day!

I settled down and looked at my diary. A couple of meetings and a few other matters to attend to and going through the heaps of emails on my computer. As I turned to begin my day at my desk, a thought entered my mind: to text my niece and ask her to join me for tea and cake if she was free in the afternoon. She texted back that she’d be happy to join me for tea and cake. The day went swimmingly and soon it was time to meet her.

Ending the week on a high...

We met at our favourite cafe on Regent Street, London, ordered from the partisserie and tea. I had the Black Forest gateau and my niece the strawberry cheesecake. We both enjoyed the time to chill and exchange news and happenings in our lives. We enjoyed the chance to get together and welcome the beginning of the weekend. We also had time to browse through a great store nearby. Soon it was time to go our separate ways. We said our goodbyes and parted company.

As I walked towards Piccadilly Street, I kept thinking: there is always the impromptu wonders that put a wonderful end to a working week…in this case tea, Black Forest gateau and strawberry cheesecake.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

