Two Birds On A Station Platform

Peek-a-boo...or go away? Cute!

On my way home this evening I got out on the platform near my stop. As I headed towards the stairs this bird landed right infront of me.  I was pleasantly surprised at how tame it seemed. This was a great photo opportunity…click, click, click went my camera. Then an extraordinary thing happened.  As I clicked away the bird followed the clicking sounds head cocked towards one side then the other.  It walked towards me then it moved away then it came back towards me. Probably undecided whether I was a hostile or a friendly presence. I think it must have been the latter. It walked towards me rather cautiously every now and then listening and following the camera clicks. Wow! I was amused by the bird’s behaviour! I think the curiosity was mutual.

Shy? No it was following the camera clicks.

The clicking sound of my camera seemed to attract the bird. After checking me out, I think, it walked rather confidently towards me then it stopped then it moved towards me then stopped. This continued for a while. I was amazed that it wasn’t at all scared of a human standing there. I wondered what it thought the clicking sounds were. I think it may have thought the clicking sounds meant food or something desirable. I decided I’ve taken enough photos as my new feathered pal moved closer towards me, boldly this time.

I didn’t know what to think of this encounter, most interesting (as Mr Hercule Poirot would have said).

Finally, hello Human!

I must say the bird’s behaviour convinced me that curiosity is not such a bad thing. If I weren’t in a hurry I probably would have stood there long enough to find out how close the bird would have got to me. This was a meeting of two birds on a train station platform, but I had the last shot!

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

