Mango: An Anytime Snack

Simply delicious...best fruit snack ever

 

Mango is always a great filler during the day as a fruit snack. When I came to the UK I wasn’t really surprised to find mango fruit in London. I was grateful that I could still enjoy my favourite fruit here. When I realised I can buy mango fruit here I began to look out for other tropical fruit like pawpaw when I went shopping in supermarkets and local markets. Yes, I was able to find mango. These are not stringy which is great. I really enjoy mango whether it came as a fruit, in juice, icecream or some other kind of dessert. Just simply delicious!     

Sitting here this Sunday afternoon mango tasted absolutely delightful after lunch.     

Delightful...

 

As usual I reminisced about mango and yes, some really lovely happy memories about eating mango fruit at midnight on school holidays in December when mango fruit was in season. At night we’d listen out for the sound of mango fruits dropping on the ground outside our house whenever the flying foxes were around also enjoying a nocturnal feast of mango fruit. Their feeding frenzy knocked down the fruit from the branches so we also had our share of the lovely delightful fruit. We’d also collect the dropped mangos on the grass beneath the mango trees and snack on them all day long. Mango trees surrounded my family home when I was growing up on one of the most idyllic islands in Papua New Guinea’s Milne Bay Province. I guess mango fruit will always be a necessary part of my diet.     

It is a tropical fruit found throughout Papua  New Guinea, the Pacific and in Asia. There are a lot of varieties of the fruit some hybrid varieties have been developed in countries like Thailand. I first tasted mango juice and dried mango slices in the Philippines. It is such a versatile fruit.     

Mango is an exportable fruit for some countries in Asia and the Caribbean no doubt and perhaps from other tropical regions. That is why I am able to find it here in London and no doubt in Europe and America in supermarkets and farmers’ markets. It seems like a lucrative export industry. In fact I saw mango ‘plantations’ in Thailand and no doubt in the Philippines and acknowledge the fact that mango fruit from these trees must find their way to countries with temperate climes. It is a wonderful fruit wherever you can find it. Nowadays you can find it practically anywhere in the world.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “Mango: An Anytime Snack”

  1. Yes, remember those juicy mangoes…straight off the branches. When I live we have local markets and supermarkets which sell the non-stringy ones which remind me so much of Rabaul and Thailand.

    Yes, I agree. We do some things for granted – like mangoes at home. We don’t know what we have until we are at a place when they come at a premium price.

    Have a great day.

  2. Too right…it is!!
    I have a 13-year-old niece who climbs the rooftop everyday to collect the fruits….as you well know, Port Moresby boasts the juiciest, sweetest mangoes in the world!

    And they are ready and ripe all year ’round. I was tickled when I had to go to Harrods some years ago in London to have to purchase one at an astronomical price…

    We take some things for granted don’t we?

    cheers
    EP

Leave a Reply

