The Yellow Tree

Without a yellow bird...

 

This tree is so attractive and the colour of its leaves at Fall turned such a bright yellow! I called it the yellow tree. During the Fall 2009 I walked past it day in and day out. I noticed it only when it turned all yellow. It fascinated me so much so that I took a photo of it.   

It was only yesterday evening when I walked past the tree that I noticed this little plaque under it. I still don’t know what tree this is. I still haven’t found out it’s name.   

The plaque on the ground for the yellow tree...

 

The Westminster Tree Trust was established in 1982 as a charity organization committed to investing funds towards beautifying the physical environment of the Westminster area. They are involved in raising funds towards tree planting, shrubbery etc.   

The lesson of the yellow tree for me is that sometimes one walks past a thing or person of beauty without having a healthy sense of curiosity. It’s only when you stop and take a good look at the thing or person that you begin to discover the beauty and goodness in that thing or person.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

6 thoughts on “The Yellow Tree”

  1. Oh boy…it’s a seller’s market here in Port Moresby. The real estate industry has shot through the roof with the projected boom expected from the LNG projects and other peripheral business activities. Anyone who purchased property in the last five years is currently sitting pretty as the value would have risen 5 or 6 fold. No kidding..

    But this elevation is expected to either flatten or go down in about a few years time from what I gather.

    Have a top weekend!

    cheers
    EP

    1. Oh dear EP, that is grim! I guess some people are going to reap benefits and others are going to suffer…

      Thanks for the info.

      Have a top weekend too my wan.

      Cheers,
      Mari

  2. Speaking of building boom, there is so much activity at Touaguba hill that erosion is setting in some areas. About a week ago, Port Road where I live experienced a nasty landslide where a newly built stonewall collapsed onto the road making it impassable for several days. A car got stuck under the rubble while traveling at the exact time the landslide occurred. Fortunately, the driver got out safely. It took a few days to remove the car and the rubble which contained some mighty impressive boulders.

    Two things are happening here to cause landslide – (1) trees which protect the soil are being cleared for buildings (2) Stonewalls, fences & property development are blocking off the natural run-off for water that normally go down the hillsides into the harbour during the rains.

    Hopefully we can learn some lessons from the recent landslide.

    cheers
    EP

    1. My wan,

      That’s grim. I think some real town-planning needs to kick in if not already in full force.

      I remember those landslides but were few and far between then – sounds like nowadays there’s a strong likelihood of landslide anytime during the day or night.

      Glad to know that the passenger of the car under the rubble got out safely.

      A small digression – what are house or apartment prices like nowadays in POM?

      Thanks for visiting so frequently. I really enjoy your comments and insights.

      Cheers.

  3. Hi there EP,

    Glad you dropped. Yes, I think I can remember those trees -those were the days my wan.

    I understand that there is a building boom now raging in POM. Like you I hope they don’t cut down too many nice trees which I am sure had been planted with lots of love when those avenues were planned and first built.

    Have a great weekend.

    Mari

  4. Too true my wan! It reminds me of the beautiful yellow “Chinese Lanterns” trees that light up Port Moresby at around Christmas.

    The ones that line up the Boroko drive where the Uniting Church, Anglican Church & Catholic Church are located, are my favourite.

    But with all the construction and development of the city going on, I hope people stop, appreciate and save some of these trees so we can continue to find joy in them at Christmas.

    EP

Leave a Reply

