Pre-Weekend Blues…Happens, You Know

Took my mind off the mundane and mediocre.

   

The day had been eventful in more ways than one. Sometimes it was like that.   

I was early at work. Missed breakfast at home so grabbed a croissant, a muffin (snack for later) and some other stuff to snack on through the day. The air was a bit chilly when I walked through the park to the office. At the office when I looked out of the window – the sun was out, temporarily, but as always, uplifting.   

At lunchtime I went with a colleague for a bite to eat at a nearby restaurant and the dish I chose really sucked! I wished I had not ordered it. The beef was really chewy and I mean chewy! I broke my left thumbnail and it was uncomfortable. I bought a nail clipper in a shop close by and relieved myself of the potential disaster – nailwise. Then it rained on the way back to the office.   

Fast forward……..   

That evening on the way to the club I noticed that the night wasn’t that dark….  As I walked out into the courtyard, I noticed the full moon. Wow!  I tried to capture it with my camera. The fact that I noticed the moon and wanted to take a photo of it was to me like seeking comfort in nature. After I took photos of the moon, the one above  included, I felt my spirits gradually elevated.   

At the club I met some of my close friends which was really great. Their animated discussions and laughter reminded me it was the weekend…yippeee! Later on walked to the station with a couple of friends and homeward bound. Grabbed a vegetarian meal at one of my favourite restaurants in the neighbourhood then home and comforts of things familiar.   

Looking back…no worries there are such things as pre-weekend blues…happens, you know.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

