Poutine Of Canada

The night I was introduced to 'poutine'

One of the great things  I love about the place where I work is the continuous celebration of diversity. Last evening we celebrated Canada as the host of the Winter Olympics. Our Canadian colleagues enabled us to taste a Canadian favourite (something light  and tasty) and beer. Of course beer is pretty straightforward but the food was something I never ever heard of let alone taste. Well, that’s just the beauty of it! These celebrations give us an opportunity to taste food, beverages, learn and participate in songs and dances etc from the nations of our Commonwealth.

Now the dish I tasted for the first time in my life was called ‘poutine’. It was made up of potato chips, gravy and cheese.

I Googled ‘poutine’ to learn more about it. There are quite a few websites which contain information about this interesting Canadian favourite: http://www.montrealpoutine.com, http://www.cheeseburgerbrown.com and there is a good discussion on ‘poutine’ on http://chowhound.chow.com. I’m sure there are more sites including Wikipedia.

It was a good introduction to Canadian favourites and I was glad I dropped by the Club for a taste of Canada. Next time I am in Canada my rather erratic culinary mission would  be to go in search of the perfect ‘poutine’ – oui monsieur!

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

One thought on “Poutine Of Canada”

Leave a Reply

