Picture Stories On A Wall

Picture stories on a wall

I’m not one to stop in underground parking lots except to park my car and get to where I’m going. But this mural caught my eye and made me stop. I want to call this ‘art underground’ because in my eyes it is art. It’s an amazing collection of stories – a story board then. Each drawing tells a story. It also could be a statement of what concerns a group of people, a community surrounded by symbols and artefacts relevant to the generation referred to here. It’s an interesting bit of expression. It speaks to an issue that is at the core of someone’s heart, being, thinking and behaviour – what about us? what about our generation? That’s what I feel I could hear from this mural.

I am not sure whether this mural was created to give the underground parking lot a bit of colour or whether it was someone’s idea of a blank canvas or useful space to tell their stories. I also don’t know whether the mural was drawn by one person or several persons. When I look at this collection of events and people I see a cross-cutting theme as well as a specific lens. I wonder what generation this mural is referring to. Could be past, present or future…your guess is as good as mine.

At graduate school some decade or so ago, I did a paper on tattoos in which I referred to tattoos as unique pieces of artwork created by artists who take the human skin as a blank canvas on which they could tell their own and others’ stories etc. The mural reminded me of the colourful tattoos in the magazines I used for my assignment. I reckon that this mural could inspire a couple of cool tattoos.

Quite a clever piece of work where the concerns or issues of this generation are integrated, woven together to make one mural. For me each drawing represents the artist’s perception of the important things in life. I am so glad I stopped to admire these picture stories on a wall.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

1 thought on “Picture Stories On A Wall”

Leave a Reply

