Pasta Pronto!

Something quick and tasty after a busy day

I came home tonight and decided to make something quick and tasty to eat after a busy day at the office.  I decided to cook pasta with whatever I had in the fridge that needs to be used up. I find pasta is a great time saver and it is one of my larder staples. On a Winter evening, tired and hungry you can be sure that pasta will come to the rescue without a doubt.

I was happy the day was nice and sunny although it started dull and dreary. The slightly warm day was a welcome change from yesterday. It rained all day yesterday! I like the rain but don’t like the cold that goes with it but then this is still Winter so there isn’t much choice is there?

I can feel the warmth of the sun...was probably the heater...hehehe

Anyway, coming home tonight all I wanted was to have a simple meal that can be made in minutes so I don’t have to spend too much time in the kitchen and also be able to have dinner at a decent hour. I knew that American Idol was on tonight – 2 hours of enjoyment – so I didn’t want to be rushing to and from the living room. Dividing my time between a hot stove and a hot TV programme.

From my kitchen...curbs hunger pronto!

So here is my recipe for Pasta Pronto (my own creation). I called it Pasta Pronto, don’t know why but it sounds kinda appropriate…hmmm

Ingredients

2 cups penne pasta

4 cups cold water (use 3 cups to cook the pasta and 1 cup to mix the creamed mushroom soup)

1 doz. thin dried bacon strips

1 tbsp dried parsley

250 grams creamed mushroom soup in garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

6 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

1/2 large red onion

1/2 tsp dried crushed chilli

Boil 3 cups of water until boiling andput in 2 cups penne pasta. Cook pasta until cooked through but not soft. In a frying pan fry the onions in the oil, put in dried crushed chilli. Pour in cooked pasta and mix well. Sprinkle roughly crushed dried bacon strips. Pour in mushroom soup and remaining cup of the water. Sprinkle 2 tbsp of grated parmesan cheese and roughly mix until cheese is fully incorporated. Sprinkle the parsley and serve hot in a bowl. Sprinkle the remaining  grated cheese and voila dinner! Pasta Pronto… done!

Serves two...

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

