Pretty In White

White peacock...pretty in white...

I was on the grounds of Leeds Castle and came across this white peacock. I had never seen one in my life and was fascinated by it. I reckon that it is a really beautiful specimen.

One useful thing I found out about this magnificient bird is that it is not an albino mutant. The  peacock belongs to the pheasant family. The male is called a peacock whilst the female is called a peahen. Apparently, the male peacocks are the ones with the ornate and beautiful blue, turquoise and emerald feathers.

Simply amazing...

It is said that peacocks love companionship and so it follows that when you find one you are sure to find a partner. Well, on this particular day, I did not see the partner. Perhaps the partner was somewhere on the grounds but not near this one. Anyway, it was such a majestic sight.

Auvoir!

If you happen to visit Leeds Castle look out for these magnificient birds.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

Leave a Reply

