Encounter Of The Wax Kind

The Greatest, The Champ, The Louisville Lip...immortalized

 

On Christmas eve some years ago, I went to Madame Tussauds. Yeah, alright it sounds like the sort of touristy stuff that one would do, and why not? There are so many touristy things an expat can do here that it took 2 years for me to finally get to Madame Tussauds. It’s a neat place and I wish I had more time to visit. Next time, I told myself, as I left.  So what does Madame Tussauds have to do with Muhammed Ali ‘The Greatest’, ‘The Champ’, ‘The Louisville Lip’…      

Well, Madame Tussauds is a wax museum situated in London. A short tube journey from Green Park. It has a very interesting history. The museum was inherited from Marie Tussaud, a Frenchwoman born as Anna Maria Grosholtz (1761 – 1850) from Strasbourg, France. She learnt how to make wax figures from a famous French doctor who made wax models. Her mother was the doctor’s housekeeper. When the doctor passed away, Marie Tussaud inherited all the wax models. There are Madame Tussauds Museums throughout Europe and America. The number of wax figures at Madame Tussauds is amazing. The collection includes movie stars, royalty, and famous and infamous characters throughout history. More on Madame Tussauds at http://www.madametussauds.com      

 Now while moving around and admiring the wax figures which also included the likes of George Clooney, imagine my great delight when I saw the wax figure of one of my sports heroes. There, looking ever so authentic was a life-size figure of Muhammed Ali aka The Greatest, The Champ, The Louisville Lip. I couldn’t just walk past without taking a photo. What a find!      

 When I was at university in PNG in the early ’70s, Muhammed Ali was constantly in the news. I don’t like boxing but Ali made it look like fine artwork. There was a catchy song about him which of course I cant remember the lyrics of except the line “…Muhammed, Muhammed Ali, he floats like a butterfly and stings like a bee…”.      

 It was a real privilege to be able to take a photo next to the wax figure of this famous person. I guess that’s as close as I’ll ever get to Monsieur Ali. As you can see, I should have stood on a stool.  Nevermind. I took the photo and that’s good enough for me.      

Visit http://www.ali.com for information on Muhammed Ali – ‘The Greatest’, ‘The Champ’, ‘The Louisville Lip’.      

 It was a trip worth making and I was really glad I spent part of the afternoon of Christmas Eve at Madame Tussauds.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “Encounter Of The Wax Kind”

  1. Hi Island Meri,

    I really envy you in the photo standing next to one of my favourite all-time sporting hero and idol, the grat Muhamad Ali (formerly Casius Clay – oops, I hope I spelt that right here…).

    It is one of my dream that one day I will be standing to a life-size wax image of “The Greatest” sometimes in the future – maybe when I’m old and rich…

    As always, lots of great interesting reading in one of my favourite ‘Papua Hahine’ blog.

    Keep up the great work as our intrepid ambassador and expatriate in London, UK.

    Aioni

    Reginald
    The Big Smoke

    1. Daba namona Reg,

      Yes, thank goodness for the wax figure. Am sure one day you’ll be able to take a photo next to the figure of The Greatest. I trust you and family are well and had a great holiday season.

      Thank you for your compliments for my posts. I follow your articles via Keith Jackson and Malum Nalu’s blogs. Keep up the good work.

      Wishing you and family a great year ahead.

      Cheers,
      Mari

Leave a Reply

