Versatile Olive…

De-lish!

 

Olive is a fruit of the olive tree – Olea europaea. It is found mainly in Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisine. Love it! 

I first heard about olive at Sunday school way back in the time of the dinosaurs. For example, the olive branch in the story of Noah’s Ark. Noah sent out a dove to check out the place if the flooding has stopped and the dove brought back an olive branch showing that the flooding has stopped and there was life outside the Ark. Noah assured that the flooding had indeed stopped, let out the couples (two of each creature which existed then) who were couped up in the Ark for 40 days and 40 nights. Many events in the Bible took place on the Mount of Olives near Jerusalem. 

Moving forward to latter days… 

In this day and age we know that olives also come from other countries other than the Middle East. When I was growing up on a small island in Papua New Guinea, olive or olives were associated with Bible stories – yes, Noah’s Ark but also the places were Jesus travelled with His Disciples. I think ‘olive’ is mentioned between 16 – 30 times in the Bible in both the Old and New Testaments. 

Olives (green ones) are used in beverages. Hmmm…. A hearty correctly mixed glass of martini must, for some reason, have an olive in it. Well, some maintain that the humble olive(s) enhances the flavour of the martini particularly the ones in brine. I’ll go with that explanation. Never tasted it, my loss, don’t worry, so I don’t know what it does to the old palate. 

Olive oil – now that is the oil I use in most of my cooking including healthy doses of it in my salads. There are so many kinds of olive oil in supermarkets, gourmet stores and convenient shops. I like all kinds of olive oil but have developed a liking for one and have stuck by that for the past 4 years. I use it for marinades, grilling, frying and salads. 

Nowadays, one can get olives practically anywhere from anywhere just about from around the world. There are green olives as well as red/black ones. I recently started eating red/black olives don’t ask why but I have. There are also different kinds of olives in the olive world so hey, we are really spoilt for choice. Check out this site: http://www.SixWise.com for some more helpful tips on olive. 

The ‘Olive Branch’ was the name of a yacht that was associated with early missionary work in Papua (of Papua New Guinea) in the late 1800s. It was the mission yacht that was used for missionary outreach work among their flock in far-flung and more often than not hostile territories. 

Olive is a woman’s  name. The name means, olive tree, olive branch, peace, proud and beautiful. Funny enough it seemed to have come from Latin and German origins. Interesting. I’ve known five women called Olive throughout my entire life. 

A bowl of olives...a great start to any meal or alcoholic beverage.

 

Finally, I’d rather have olives on a table in spicy olive oil for a starter. As the photo attests, someone got to it before I did! 

There is a great article on olives at: http://www.thefruitpages/olive. 

So there we are, the versatile olive in every sense of the word if you set your mind to it.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

9 thoughts on “Versatile Olive…”

  1. Great blog and post cheers. How long has this site been running now? The only thing is I seem to be having slight technical difficulties getting to your RSS feed though. Linette S

    1. Hi Linette.

      Thanks for the compliments. I hope you sort out the RSS feed. I’ll check out my RSS feed to see whether it’s on my side. Please visit again.

      Cheers
      IslandMeri

    1. Hi Dave,
      I can only talk about my own experience – photos to show what the blog about, a good blog theme, posting regularly, tag the posts, and relevant and useful links on the blogsite for readers to easily access more information on the subject of the blog post.
      Good luck.

      Cheers,
      IslandMeri

  2. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  3. Absolutely scrumptious Mari. Imagine delicious olives coming out of a bitter cold English winter .. heart warming to say the least.

    Kind Regards
    Pearson

Leave a Reply

