Ultimate Desk Companions

Lancelot - sitting pretty on the window sill.

Yesterday I looked around my office and realised that I have amongst the usual office issue, a couple of interesting knick-knack I’ve collected or have received as gifts. They somehow give me a sense of ownership of my desk and all that is on it. In a strange kind of way they give me a sense of myself.

What is a knick-knack? I went into Google searching for the definition and the closest I can get to the meaning is from these two definitions given by The Free Dictionary by Farlex. 1. “It is a cheap ornament or trinket” and 2. “an ornamental article of furniture, dress, etc.”. Well mine were reasonably cheap but not tacky.

Paper weight...

My desk has the usual office stuff – a computer, a telephone, a desk calendar, a stapler, a paper puncher, paperclips, books, in-tray and out-tray, folders name it. I have it. But I regard the knick-knack as my desk companions. We belong together.We have a reciprocal relationship.

Legendary noble helper of the financially challenged...

Generally speaking, I think knick-knack say something about the person who owns them. Well, perhaps mine do say something about me. Interesting thought.

Soon, without a doubt, I will take my knick – knack with me when I clean up my desk to move on to another job or relocate somewhere else. After all we belong together – the ultimate desk companions.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

2 thoughts on “Ultimate Desk Companions”

  1. Good morning PV, thanks for the compliment. Glad you like them. Comforting to have them around – adds to my personal space at my workstation.

    Cheers,
    M

Leave a Reply

