Flora-lly Speaking…

250 years of gardening par excellence...

I first heard about Kew Gardens when I came to London a fair few years ago. I kept on putting off a visit until late September this year. The journey by car took less than an hour. The big challenge was trying to get out of the central London traffic. Phew!

What a feast of colour! The Gardens are so peaceful. I felt as if I were in another world. Just outside the gates of the Gardens is the bustling city of London. The Gardens are like an oasis made up of different parts of the world – flora-lly speaking.

I’d like to say it with flowers and that’s exactly what I’m going to do on this post. I am going to share my photos of the vast range of floral delights found in one lovely corner of London.

The roses in the Gardens seemed to be at the end of their flowering glory so the beautiful blooms were not so fresh on this Saturday afternoon. Nonetheless, I managed to capture some of the colours in the afternoon glow.

The cacti and the orchid exhibits were the most interesting to me. I was absolutely mesmerised by the cacti. Some of the shapes were amazing and beautiful. The collection was magnificient. I’ve never seen so many different types of cacti in my life before. Simply awesome!

I reckon pictures of the orchid exhibit are worth showing separately. Exotic and alluring, orchids are some of my favourite flowering plants in the world. The Kew Gardens selections are simply exquisite. Watch this space.

I must admit I love flowers and exotic plants – flowering or otherwise. Once inside the Gardens I felt like a kid in a candy store. There were flowers and plants of many descriptions. I took heaps of photos of plants, trees and other attractions in the Gardens. I guess I was trigger-happy again with my Nikon D80 (sold now).

To see the rest of the Gardens we decided to take the open train around the grounds. That was probably the best way to see as much of the Gardens as time would allow. A pagoda stands silent and impressive among the trees which we saw on our ride around the Gardens.

I had a wonderful time and as usual, to remember my visit, I raided the souvenir shop. 15 minutes later –  two beautiful mugs with the pagoda print on them and a big coffee table book  on paintings of the flowers and plants found in the Gardens. This is an amazing book, “The Art of Plant Evolution” by W. John Kress and Shirley Sherwood.  When I first saw the name Sherwood it reminded me of the legend of Robin of Sherwood – what a coincidence!

My visit to Kew Gardens was a great eye-opener. I feasted my eyes on the beautiful collections and exhibits spread over large areas in the Gardens. I did not get to see the lot since time was a constraint. But I promise I’ll visit again to learn more about this beautiful oasis in the middle of this bustling northern metropolis.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

3 thoughts on “Flora-lly Speaking…”

  1. Thanks EP. i love taking photos of plants and trees. Something fascinating I find. Love the colours, shapes, patterns etc. Thank you for your compliments.
    Same wishes to you. God bless.
    Cheers,
    Mari

Leave a Reply

