Meera, Meera – May Be The Fairest Of Them Yet!

The entrance...warm and inviting.
The entrance...warm and inviting.

Been driving past this restaurant for a few weeks and everytime thinking whether we should give it a try.  Could have gone there a couple of weeks ago but didn’t get around to it.

Meera's
Meera Colada...simply delicious!

In fact, I met one of the Salespersons at PC World at Staples Corner and somewhere along the line we established that we both live in the same area. Our conversation, amongst PCs and printers and so on, turned to eating places in our area.  She suggested we  tried Meera which she said had really nice food, ambience and great prices.

We decided to try it out on Friday evening!  It being Friday evening I thought about two niggling issues  – a parking spot, and whether I’d find the food as my new-found neighbour found it – great and reasonably priced.

Regardless, we went to Meera’s anyway. Well, I needn’t have worried my little head off as both issues resolved themselves and I was happier for that on this Friday night.

Meera's
Our meal...tasty morsels. We were famished.

Walking into the restaurant I was clearly amazed. I’ve never been to India and this was probably the closest I’ve been! As one of us had to park the car, I went in first – was greeted ever so warmly and didn’t have to wait long for a table. The place was packed and that was comforting because the food had to be good. It had to be, as the place was filling up so fast. There was a couple and a family of seven waiting for tables, then there was me. I must have been standing around for less than 5 minutes.  The place was absolutely buzzing and that’s what a restaurant ought to be.

Meera's fiery starter...
I bit into fire! ...but the cool chickpeas helped...

I got shown to my table for four – actually there were just two of us but that was the only way to get in hoping a group of four didn’t come along. Fortunately, that did not happen so we sat down and got  on with the bizniz of ordering our dishes and tucking in!

I looked around and was delighted at the decor and apparel of the waiters and waitresses.  I must say these people are actually Meera’s A-Team.

Meera's
Chili Garlic Mogo (cassava)...always a favourite.

I think it is a Gujarati vegetarian restaurant. I could be way off the mark here. Anyway,  I noticed the dress of the waiters – wonderfully ethnic and strangely beautiful.

Meera's A-team
The novelty of the place...Alice in Wonderland-like...

I knew I was going to have a great time.  The interior decor was georgeous.

I felt like I was in the tropics  because of the garb of the waiters and waitresses – except for the fact that I was wearing a coat and so were the other diners.

Meera's A-Team
Brilliant and fast service...stopped hunger in its tracks!

The only ones that seem oblivious to the cold were the waiters, waitresses and the manager of the restaurant – Meera’s A-Team.

When we got around to ordering and of course without knowing what kind of food was served we asked for chicken etc and were told politely that Meera is a vegetarian restaurant.

Meera's
Harabhara Kebabs...the bomb! Simply out of this world!

Well, we perished the thought of meat and got cracking on a vegan order helped by the waiter. Turned out to be a smart move.

I asked two of the A-Team if I could take a photo of them and their beautiful clothes and they kindly obliged – I was really grateful they did. The fabrics were stunning.

Back to the food. The food was delicious. The har-burgers were, I must say, the pick of the bunch. Who would  have thought vegan dishes couldn’t possibly taste so wonderful to the palate. Aherrm….only idiots! if you ask me.

The furniture was different – chairs were made of some sort of heavy wood and a bit difficult to move around but who cares…the food and efficient service more than compensated for heavy chairs. The place has ambience and I wished we had something similar…like a Pacific eating place in London. A place like this – with all the exotic Southseas themes,  music and cuisine. Anyway…nevermind about dreaming. The food had arrived and we were famished alright.

DSC01469
Beautiful wall painting...
Meera's
One of the fab wall paintings...sat below this one.

I had a good look around and everywhere I looked I must have been  smiling from ear to ear. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and a great place to be on a Friday evening.  The cost of the meal for two persons was very reasonable…I won’t be expecting to wash dishes there, I concluded.

I know that I’ll be coming back to this restaurant. It has beautiful decor, food is wonderful and delicious, and service is simply superb. Ah, better not forget that when placing your food order let them know that you would like your dish spicy but as much as possible not too hot. They’re very understanding and will provide the degree of spicy-ness that your mouth can bear.  I’ll try medium spicy next time. Yes, next time.

Before we left the restaurant I asked if I could take a photograph with two members of Meera’s A-team. The evening was a wonderful way to end a week.  A great decision I may add. I went home muttering this over and over again…”Meera, Meera…” – voila! this blog. My magic moments at Meera’s – thank you for a wonderful evening.

Meera's
With two of Meera's A-Team. Will definitely be back...without a doubt.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

14 thoughts on “Meera, Meera – May Be The Fairest Of Them Yet!”

  1. don’t step into this restaurant if is full,service is really bad, specially when you order thali,i won’t recommend this restaurant to anybody who wish to have quite family dinner

    1. Hi Uma,

      Thank you for visiting my blogsite and for expressing your opinion. I wrote about my own experience. This blog is about my personal ‘magic moments’.

      IslandMeri

  2. Had a horrible time at Meera’s – we ordered yogurt with the food, but when we nearly finished they told us, it was not available!! We had to wait for more than 10 minutes for something as simple as a drink!! Service was terrible and they cook everything in peanut oil – in this country lots of people have nuts allergy – why can’t they cook in sunflower oil like everyone else!! There is a fixed service charge, so even if you are not happy with the service you have to pay for it!! Compared to other local restaurant’s I think it’s really over-priced and service has become really bad recently!!

  3. I would also recommend you to go to Celebrity Restaurant. They server gujarati buffet for £2.99 monday0friday 11-4. there food is good aswell.. worth recommending you.

  4. That is wonderful Mari, I’m glad that you and your partner are joining us, I am really looking forward to it! What better way to spend a Saturday afternoon with good friends, good food and lots of laughter!

    Hey would you like to send me a direct email to swap phone numbers?

    heeheeee!

    Fatastic!

    Amalthea 🙂

    1. Hi Amalthea,
      Hi A,

      Brill! will see you there. Will definitely swap phone #s and email addresses then. I think this is a great pre-Christmas celebration.
      Have a great day.

      See you Saturday pm – cant wait to taste those delicious har-burgers again!

      Cheers,
      Mari

      1. Hey Mari,

        Shafe has reserved a table for us under my first name.

        Can’t wait to see you and your partner, and my friends and all the lovely food!

        Amalthea 🙂

  5. Hey Mari,

    This restaurant is wonderful. My friend and I went there a few weeks ago after your recommendation and we left the restaurant with two big smiles! 😀

    A couple of my friends and I are going to eat there again this Saturday at 13:30, I wondered if I may have the honour to have you join us there?

    It’d be good to meet you and bring friends!

    Best wishes,

    Amalthea 🙂

    1. Good afternoon Amalthea!

      Thank you so much for your kind invitation which I accept with great delight. This is a really uplifting and wonderful surprise.
      I will come along with my partner if that’s fine with you. We’ll be there to meet you and your friends at 13:30pm on Saturday afternoon.

      I am so glad you love the food. We do too. My favourite is harabhara kebabs – they look like hamburgers so I’ve called them har-burgers. It would be great to visit Meera again. Ever since I published the post, I think about 100 or more viewings (of the post) have taken place. It would be good to meet you too.

      I look forward to meeting you and your friends and once again enjoying great Gujarati cuisine.

      Have a great day.

      Cheers,
      Mari

  6. Thank you so much Mari, this restaurant seems really beautiful in your photos. I recently went to a take away (with little sit-in area) in Finchley, it’s called Meera’s Express and its food is absolutely fabtastic! I was so excited to see there is a place to sit down properly whilst enjoy one of the most colorful and tasteful food there is on earth! I am so excited!

    Thank you so much for posting this! I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Lots of love,

    Amalthea 🙂

    1. Hello Amalthea,
      This restaurant is on the lefthand side of the Queensbury Tube Station. When you come out of the station cross the road towards the lefthand side of the circle. You will see a newsagency keeping left. In fact you may be able to see it on the left. Come out towards the bus stop and look across on the left side. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. It should say “Meera Village” – you should see into the restaurant some of the decor as in my blog post.
      Enjoy.
      Mari

Leave a Reply

