Sunsets: Captivating, Inspiring and Spiritual…

On my street looking west......
On my street looking west......

There’s something about sunsets that I cannot describe. Whether it is the time of the day or the hues, there is something mystical about sunsets.

Bits of blue sky...
Bits of blue sky...

Scientists and meteorologists take a scientific approach in telling us about sunsets, and we all know that the sun sets because that’s the way the world works!

Amazing hues...
Amazing hues...

However, I’ve yet to find out why one feels compelled to take a photo of a sunset, use it as a background or just admire it. Whenever I see a lovely sunset, I remember this hymn, “Abide with me…”. I think there is a spiritual connection with sunsets because of the awesome hues, the time of day and the mood I’m in which is usually pensive and reflective. I don’t know why that is but it is a fact. I took these shots of sunsets in my neighbourhood.

The strip of blue and orange...
The strip of blue and orange...

I got to carrying my camera around because I don’t know what I might capture that makes it my magic moment.  Most people think that the best sunsets are found in the tropics. I too believed that until now.

Here I am in England and I realised that it doesn’t matter where you are in the world, there is always a sunset that will grab your attention and hold it for as long as you want to stand around or sit and watch it.

Coming from an idyllic island in Papua New Guinea, sunsets have inspired some of the best romantic and beautiful songs ever written.

As a songwriter myself, sunsets inspire me so much and are a major ingredient in my nostalgic and romantic songs. Two of the songs I’ve written that have been inspired by sunsets and I can remember straightaway are: “Sunsets on Sundays” and “Bonabonarua Miadi” (Island Life). Whenever I watch a sunset I feel my spirit comforted, soothed and inspired.

The evening lights come on as the sun sets...
The evening lights come on as the sun sets...

I was at PC World store, Staples Corner recently, and on the way out this was what confronted my eyes – a stunning sunset.

Absolutely captivating!
Absolutely captivating!

There were no islands in sight or swaying coconut trees or the sea. But the affect was the same. I forgot that this sunset was over the busy Edgware Road or that there were buildings everywhere. It was absolutely captivating.

I kept on snapping...
I kept on snapping...

I was so glad I took to wearing my camera around my neck because I never know what interesting event or person etc I could see or find that is worth capturing on my camera. Or make a significant impact on my day.  I stood infront of the store just simply mesmerised by the bright orange and blue grey hues.

The spirally dark blue clouds above the bright orange hues...
The spirally dark blue clouds above the bright orange hues...

As I was standing there rooted to the spot and camera snapping away, other customers also stopped and started taking photos of the sunset. I asked one couple why they were taking a photo of the sunset and they said they were simply captivated.

Stunning combination of colours
Stunning combination of colours

I agree. We were simply captivated. Imagine a few minutes before this awesome sight we were strangers and now in the dusk and fading light, we were united in our admiration of this English sunset as if we had known eachother for ages or neighbours.

Orange greys and a dark foreground...
Orange greys and a dark foreground...

The emotions we felt about the changing colours of the sunset kind of united us with one sentiment – to admire one of natures wonders – a sunset!

Tints of yellow appeared...
Tints of yellow appeared...

I was just standing there unable to move. After taking a few shots I decided to watch as the sun sets.

The couple moved off and other customers coming out of the store also stopped to watch the orange blue grey colours in the distant. What a sight! Honestly, the sunset was just incredible.

As I drove away from the store my mind was still on the sunset. I wanted to watch it until there were not more amazing colours. However, it was getting dark fast and dinner needs to be cooked. Now that brought me back to earth so to speak.  Anway, a few minutes along the parking lot, I jumped out of my car and took some more shots of the dying sunset.

Bright colours fade.., from this part of the parking lot.
Bright colours fade.., from this part of the parking lot.

I was not the only one in the parking lot.  There was a fella there who drove especially to Staples Corner to take shots of the sunset. We exchanged our impressions of the sunset – again perfect strangers. I didn’t ask him about his camera…as he was already clicking away. I also thought better of making conversation. Perhaps he too was taking comfort from this georgeous sunset.

One of his comments that resonated with me was that if we were taking photos of the sunset, we’ve got to be fast as changes in hues happened every second.

Yes, I agreed and looked back towards the direction where I’d just come from. The the flaming orange was still there but within seconds it was gone…

The combination of colours was still there...as I drove off...
The combination of colours was still there...as I drove off...

Try watching a sunset, I bet you you will feel a whole mixture of emotions. Remember there is always a sunset in every land – inspiring and spiritual whichever way you look at it – guaranteed!

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

4 thoughts on “Sunsets: Captivating, Inspiring and Spiritual…”

  1. These are some of the most beautiful sunset photos I’ve seen. Who knew England had it in ‘er? 😉 Like you, I thought the best sunsets were in the tropics. When I lived in Hawaii, that certainly seemed to be the case. Now, I live in Arizona and we have amazing desert sunsets here. One only needs a bit of space; perhaps breathing room, to find one to enjoy almost anywhere.

    1. Hi Museditions,

      Thank you for your compliments on the sunset pics. It was absolutely stunning – couldn’t capture it all. I’ve visited Hawaii several times and also loved the sunsets there as in all tropical countries so seeing one like this in England stopped me in my tracks so to speak. I bet you have lovely sunsets in Arizona and yes I agree you can find beautiful sunsets anywhere. Have a great weekend.

      Regards,
      Mari

    1. Hi Malum,
      Thank you for your compliments. The wonder of nature…couldn’t capture it in words sometimes.
      Cheers,
      Mari

Leave a Reply

