Writers’ Block! A Blogger’s Nightmare, But…

I have been struggling to write something these past 48 hours but nothing doing! I don’t know why. It feels like starting with so many headlines and topics! But as soon as I commit pen to paper whatever I wanted to write about just fizzles out. So I got to thinking! I need to be a bit more creative. Sometimes the best posts come by when you are least expecting the sort of stuff you end up writing about and publishing. I reckon the best approach is to start writing, whatever comes to mind. Perhaps look through your collection of photos – remember there’s a story behind every photo! Dig deep into stuff you’ve done, places you’ve visited, events you’ve atttended, food etc.  So hey, I am going to practice what I preach. This post is about the arrangement of mugs I saw at a Garfunkels restaurant recently. This experience helped me overcome my momentary writers’ block.

The light through the gaps in this mug arrangement is amazing!
The light through the gaps in this mug arrangement. Amazing!

I was most impressed by the many displays of mug arrangements around the restaurant. I have been to many restaurants but none as keen on in-house advertising as this Garfunkels restaurant in Central London. I have never seen anything like it! It seems to me by these mug displays that Garfunkels is not taking its business for granted nor its customers.

This creative line-up was my idea...hmm...different...
This creative line-up was my idea...hmm...different...

I also think that the mug displays do not only serve as Garfunkels advertising but also serves souvenir seekers with discerning tastes in food, service and ambience. Yes, the creative mug arrangements and displays add to the ambience of the place. Well, I left the restaurant not only satisfied with the fare, service and cost but also the ambience.

A beautiful castle of mugs...
A beautiful castle of mugs...

I heard somewhere that often times the customer pays for the ambience more than the food, service etc. In the case of Garfunkels, the one I went to on this particular evening, it had it all!

The great friendly service, the great food enjoyed – most delicious, the cost, the ambience and of course the amazing mug arrangements that were pleasing to the eye, were a great ending to a wonderful Sunday with my family.

What more can a woman ask for? Quite right! what more could I have asked for.

Driving home that night, I looked back on the day and decided that having dinner at Garfunkels that night was a great decision. A fantabulous time was had by all.

Close up of the line up...garrrreat!
Close up of the line up...garrrreat!

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

4 thoughts on “Writers’ Block! A Blogger’s Nightmare, But…”

  1. Mari Dear, the post on the Garfunkels mugs has been highlighted in our memoirs….It was another signature day with the mugs taking centre stage at the finale…how fitting; once again, you have captured the moments in this post with much ease, and it was a pleasure to read.
    Nanise

    1. Dear Nan,

      Thank you so much for your compliments and comments on the Garfunkel mugs. Yes, I agree they enhanced the family gathering at that place.
      Mari

    1. Hi Malum,

      Great to hear from you. Thank you for the encouragement. You know how it is when blogging is a part-time pleasurable activity. Been reading your blog posts – lots of great developments and uplifting news. I’ll certainly check out the political cartoons. BTW – is the PNG grassroots cartoon still around?

      Have a great week. God bless.
      Mari

Leave a Reply

