You Are How Much You Eat: The Case Of A Humble Muffin…

A hot favourite...I reckon
A hot favourite...I reckon

The operative word here is ‘how much’. I was on the train to the office this morning and sat opposite me was a young lady who got on at the 4th stop I think. Anyway, after she settled into her seat she fished out the plastic bag she was carrying and I glimpsed a muffin – think it was a blueberry muffin.  Sorry for looking but I was trying not to stare. I was busy trying to find my favourite song on the old iPod so was fiddling around which made my spying less obvious.

Packed with delight...to die for?
Packed with delight...to die for?

So the next time I looked she had pulled out a book from her handbag and whilst she read she  intermittently broke off a piece of the delectable morsel tranferred it to her mouth and quietly munched away. No sounds just movement of the jaws.  Yes, she was very quietly having her breakfast minus the silver Wedgewood and hot beverage. Quietly,  most noticeably, which was sweet. Not like the guy yesterday morning who was munching on his breakfast so noisily I darted glances in his direction a couple of times. Honestly, I could have sworn there was a swine in the carriage! He was noisy and quite unbelievably bad-mannered, well, to me he was. Back to the good mannered lady who was munching away quietly in the seat opposite me.

After a few discrete bites I noticed that she closed the plastic bag, rolled the top and made it into a knot so as not to loose her precious muffin, and placed it in her handbag. Then she doused her hands with a liquid sanitiser I think, and continued reading her book.

To have or...
To have or...
...not to have...
...not to have...

What caught my eye and my fullest attention – discretely though- was that she only ate the top of the muffin! the dome bit at the top. What! what about the rest of the delicious thing!? Are my eyes playing tricks or what? She did not finish her muffin, end of story. Why? I took another look at her. She was slim, not emaciated, and healthy. Her clothes fit her very well and she looked very smart. Is that how one could look if one just had the dome of a muffin? Not even half a muffin…my heart was breaking. I left home without breakfast and it takes 45 minutes to get to the office.

Trying to stay away from this can be...ahem! challenging...
Trying to stay away from this can be...ahem! challenging...

Through all this, I recalled reading somewhere that you are what you eat and sometimes how much you need to eat. Looking at the woman opposite me I also recalled that I read about eating small portions the size of the palm of your hand. But here’s the big news, I’ve also read somewhere that inorder to be slim one needs to watch slim people, what they eat and how much they eat and try to emulate them. Your reward would be a 26″ waist, and have shapely arms not biceps for your gorgeous sleeveless cocktail dresses and short-sleeved blouses. This last recollection did it for me.

I still had to have breakfast and as I pondered on all the obvious choices at Pret, EAT et al on my way to the office I reckon today is not a bad time to start. Do I have a chance in this life? I have just watched a slim person eat and now it’s my turn to see if I have the will to do what she just did. I couldn’t wait to get to the nearest breakfast place to see if I could test my willpower. So I dropped into EAT and asked for porridge. When he asked large or small I practically screamed out “small!”. He looked at me funny and I realised I must have spoken a few decibels louder than normal.  The person serving me asked if I wanted the usual sweet trimmings on my porridge but I emphatically told him that plain with milk is the best. Again he gave me that look as if to say, yes, I heard you the first time! Armed with my small porridge cup I got to the office settled down to a late breakfast of fast cooling porridge.

As I slowly ate teaspoonful after teaspoonful I kept on thinking about what I just witnessed on the train. Could I really sustain muffin-pecking if I were to try and emulate this slim lady. Do I want to be slim? – Yes! Do I want to pick at my food? – No! So I’ll see if I am going to be how much I eat within the next couple of days or weeks. I was clearly at one of those crossroads, as I had accepted the kind invitation of a friend and colleague to have dinner at one of my favourite Chinese restaurants in Chinatown. Hah! would I be able to practice what I’ve observed this morning? I guess by the time I get to the restaurant breakfast would have been history and lunch would have been non-existent!

Food for thought...."Oh to be slim again..."
Food for thought...."Oh to be slim again..."

So the big question is, am I going to be how much I eat or is  that to going to be a myth like all the other ideas I have been practising on becoming slim, and remaining slim? I thought again about the slim young lady on the train…hmmm. “Oh, to be slim again”, my head screams out while my heart ponders one more day.

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

One thought on “You Are How Much You Eat: The Case Of A Humble Muffin…”

Leave a Reply

