Words Don’t Matter – It’s All In The Spirit…

Reminscent of yesteryears when I used to religiously read the Far Eastern Economic Review skipping all the serious bits which were sometimes censored, so of course one cannot read anything, then the gem! Yes, the gem, ‘Travellers’ Tales’. Perhaps it was a blessing in disguise, the blackened pages, because that meant I could go straight to my favourite page with the  ‘Travellers’ Tales’.  Should you be inclined to check this publication I hope you can find that page. I can’t remember whose column it was but I had so much fun reading it! For those who have read the ‘Travellers’ Tales’ here are some examples of what turned up on a drive through a London street. 

Then what hope does the man on the street have?
Then what hope does the man on the street have?

Sometimes there was an unfortunate double entendre even though that is not what was intended by the well-meaning selectors of the ‘unique’ name for a place or product or event. Sometimes I wondered why I ever got beaten for skipping English classes. Looking back on those experiences perhaps it was a blessing in disguise ’cause it sure makes a difference now… or does it? Nevermind. Here comes another one…

I like that - no ambiguity to speak of...
Never! No beating about the bush...

Sometimes the name suggests a very specific niche product for a very unique niche market or is that not the meaning in this next one…

A niche market for a niche product or what?
A niche market for a niche product or what?

There has to be a balance…now on the same street on the same side of the street this…side by side through all kinds of weather like this particular afternoon.

What's good for the goose is good for the gander, right?
What's good for the goose is good for the gander, right?

These few examples made the journey home in the on-and-off rain much more enjoyable. But this next pic is the pic of the day…the driver of the bus who smiled – so who cares about the depressing weather outside.  Even a peek and a smile was worth a thousand words, yah man!

My Pic of the Day! He even opened the glass window...what a man what a country...
My Pic of the Day! He even opened the glass window...what a man what a country...

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

4 thoughts on “Words Don’t Matter – It’s All In The Spirit…”

  1. I’m not sure where Suau is spoken so you’ve got me there. I do however miss a chit chat in Tokpisin.

    While we having a very unseasonal warm winter and all the spring bulbs and blossoms are becoming confused and flowering early, the down side is that no one appears to have told our local snakes that it’s still winter and they should be hibernating. I saw an Eastern Brown yesterday that was at least 7 foot long and VERY active.

    Lukim yu…

    1. Suau is one of the major languages of Milne Bay. I am not sure how many people speak the language. My Tok Pisin is probably not as good as yours.
      Yes, we also had confusion here on flowering shrubs. I had so many blooms in the garden. I don’t like snakes! Take care.

  2. Hi from SE Queensland.

    Your article reminded me of a recent cartoon in the local SEQ paper where the proprietors of a cafe were at the door complaining how business seemed VERY slow. The name of their business was “Sam n’ Ella’s” Take Away Food.

    Lau diba sisina……

    1. Hahahaha…Hi Paul,
      There must be some natural jinxing going on! I see it all the time here in London. I’m going to be on the lookout for more. Send us some sun – it’s wavering over here. All though it has not been too bad this Summer. Lau danu Motu gado lau diba sisna. I speak Suau and unlike other bilingual and multilingual PNGns I am linguistically challenged on the Motu gado! Thank you for visiting my blog. Keith’s been leading visitors here and I am so grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

