Gudi!

Hawaiian Dinner Cruise - Honolulu, Hawaii - Dec. 2008

Gudi! (pronounced ‘goooodie’)

This is my first ever blog intended mainly for family and friends, as a way of staying in touch and sharing my magic moments through words and pictures.

So what does ‘gudi’ mean?

It can mean a number of things but don’t be alarmed.

1.  The person addressing you is from the Milne Bay Province of Papua New Guinea.

2. A friendly and informal greeting among friends, family and close associates.

3. It is a lazy way of saying ‘good afternoon’ hence the ‘gudi’ part.

If you are in Milne Bay or anywhere in PNG you most probably will be greeted with a hearty ‘gudi’ in the supermarket, parking lot, on the phone or just about anywhere. It is spreading throughout the country as a common greeting but mostly used by people from Milne Bay. With the viral nature of slang the humble ‘gudi’ will no doubt one day be a common greeting amongst people not even remotely connected to Milne Bay. Hmm…

Author: IslandMeri

I am based in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. The purpose of this blog is to share my magic moments in Papua New Guinea, elsewhere in the Pacific and the world. I have many creative pursuits - singing, songwriting, amateur photography and blogging.

12 thoughts on “Gudi!”

    1. Thank you very much Bill for your kind words and encouragement. What about my post ‘Gudi’ that you found interesting? I read that you wrote ‘Bailout Riches’ and that you have an inspiring background. Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog. Have a great day.

    1. Hi Malum,
      My wan, how are you? Thanks so much for your kind words and compliments. Now that I’m into blogging, a new world of written conversation is opening up. One of the beauties of blogging is that it does not take special training laka! But it also needs one to have a little bit of savvy or be computer literate (barest knowledge though). I am probably fortunate in that we have a great web team at work and they are just a brilliant group always taking us to great heights and encouraging staff to venture forth into the world of information technology. I’m always bugging them about blogging and wikis etc. This whole business about links I find is just awesome. I’ll keep everyone abreast of happenings in and outside of London. It is the most satisfying and far-reaching way of keep in touch with family, friends na ol wantok. If you are interested in keeping PNG informed about the Commonwealth – especially up and coming Ministerial meetings, the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) later on in November 2009 in Trinidad and Tobago, the meetings of CMAG on Fiji then our website: http://www.thecommonwealth.org is the best source. I am still singing and writing songs and more on that on my website – publishing imminent. I follow you, Emmanuel Narakobi and Keith Jackson religiously. Catch!

    1. Dear Diane,

      Thank you for visiting my blog. I reciprocated the visit to your blog and enjoyed my visit there. The first picture that your daughter took is just brilliant! The framing of the picture is profressional and a lovely site to visit. I am so grateful to Keith for featuring my blog post and broadening the interest in my endeavour. Any tips for improvement on my blog are most welcomed. Where in PNG did you teach? Lukim yu.

  1. I have just paid a visit from a link Keith’s “PNG Attitude” site. Best Wishes for a successful creation – a great way to keep in contact when “home” is so far away. You have started off with a couple of great articles and I look forward to reading of your thoughts and experiences over time.

    1. Hi Rod,
      Thank you for your compliments on my blog. I am really grateful that Keith has featured my blog on his site and my ‘bush techie’ post. I will try to publicise more of my magic moments in the UK and elsewhere. I hope you will continue to visit when you have time. Lukim yu.

    1. Gudi Rob,
      Thanks for visiting ‘My Magic Moments’. Am just starting out so its work in progress no doubt lots of room for improvement. Yes, the limepot actually tells people that it is a uniquely Milne Bay cultural item. I tried pics of coconut trees, the sea but I think the limepot has to be the one that captures the spirit and the identity of Milne Bay people. Will be updating and building the site on a daily basis so watch this space. Lukim yupela bihain. Stap gut.

  2. Thanks Keith for you comments. Much appreciated. I enjoy reading your posts and things PNGn that you don’t normally find in the mainstream media outlets. I too look forward to staying in touch. Thanks for bringing PNG closer to PNG ‘expats’ like me on a daily basis.

  3. And, of course, ‘goody’ in Australian means terrific, welcome and ‘you beaut’.

    I look forward to staying in touch with what I feel sure is going to be a beaut blog.

Leave a Reply

